RSS

Weekly Music Stuff: Steven Wilson, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, and the Key and the Crook.

26 Feb

I don’t have the time to write a review this week; it’s bound to happen from time to time and now is one of those times.  So, instead, I’m going to show you what I’ve been listening to over the previous few days or so.

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – “Push the Sky Away”

A wonderful collection of songs that never really seems to strive to develop a character rather than discuss specific situations.  Perhaps that’s the point, but I’ve not had the time to listen to it enough to determine which it is.  I posted Jubilee Street’s video, possibly the only character on the album is this street, last week.  I’m still stunned with the approach to it.

Steven Wilson – “The Raven that Refused to Sing and Other Stories”

Again, Wilson offers us a collection of songs seemingly inspired by his fixation on electronic, drone, and retro styled rock.  What I’ve heard this far sounds great.  I really enjoy Luminol after the jazzy intro fades away, and the title track is simply a stunning approach to storytelling in multimedia.  That said, I’m wondering if the ideas are getting a bit fatigued, because while I love retro rock, Storm Corrosion was a bit drab and overwhelmingly droning at points.  Grace for Drowning seemed like a funeral dirge at points and Insurgentes was great, but was probably his most purely prog inspired work by this point.

Key and the Crook

An American Rock band from the Richmond, VA area.  I enjoy their music which seems to be inspired and separate from the mainstream rock channels.  A bit like Radiohead meets PT’s soft moments, in my opinion.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 26, 2013 in Art, Geek, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
